It Overtakes Me {26 Sept 10}

Source

Wow … this week has gone by fast! … I started my new job. I really like the people at work. They all say the customers can be rude, but so far, everyone has been really nice to me. Moody customers are just part of any job. Plus, when you like the people you work with, it makes rude customers that much less bothersome. … I’m scheduled to close almost every single day next week (except Thursday, when I’m hanging out with Erin) … No break for me. 🙂 … ANYWAY, now for the links!

The first day of Fall was September 22nd! 🙂 I posted about it on Facebook and so did Victoria’s Secret. (Psst … read under the picture.) 🙂

I posted my Consumer Behavior project on Facebook. Read the captions to see what it’s all about. 🙂 By the way, this was the first scrapbook I created since like 1999. And that one was also thrown together at the last second … because that’s what happens when you procrastinate. But in all, I’m pretty happy with the result. It was pretty fun to put together, too. 🙂

Since I just got this new job, I’ve been all over my craft shows and things lately. My favorite part of the Hobby Lobby website? Project Inspiration. Remember – anything you see on sites like this is just an idea. Whatever you get from it is what you put into it. It’s the colors you use and the textures you pick. Be creative when recreating any of these projects. I picked up the “…all I want for Christmas is sequins” packet yesterday. Since I’m a little more traditional when it comes to my favorite Christmas colors, I can see doing this project with reds instead of pinks on a more natural green tree. I would absolutely keep the sequins, though, because I like sparkly. I might even add a few rhinestones, too.

You have to see this video! It’s about how to do fashion sketching and it has some great ideas! I love the idea of the jumper dress as apposed to the solid. That just shows that you just need to be creative when designing. … And OH MY GOODNESS … I want one of those wooden mannequin things!!! That’s awesome!


❤

Joey wants to start eating healthy again (he has random moments of healthiness. I love those. 🙂 ), so I’m cooking chicken tonight. I was looking for chicken recipes online for whole chicken (cheaper than breasts). I found a video that I’m not going to actually post up here because some of my readers are animal lovers and it’s kind of gruesome, but if you want to see it, go to this link. It’s a video on how to cut up a whole chicken if you’re trying to be economical, too.

That’s it for this week. 🙂

2 Comments on “It Overtakes Me {26 Sept 10}”

  1. Kelly says:

    SO jealous! I ❤ Hobby Lobby! The closest one is 25 minutes away. Well worth the fight through traffic. I owe a special thanks to hobby lobby (and small nod to Target) for my awesome collection of pumpkins. As much as I love pumpkins, I can't wait to decorate for Christmas. I have attained quite the collection of Hobby Lobby glass ornaments. I'm so happy you're chasing your dreams. Its very inspiring and I feel like a proud sister! 🙂 Love you Mel-Bell!

    • missavogue says:

      🙂 Awww thanks … you made me smile. 🙂

      I really do love it. I love the inspiring people that come in. This guy came in today and he was working on a drawing because he’s entering an art contest. While we were waiting for a price check on one of the things he got, he showed me some of his artwork and it was AMAZING. … Really. Really amazing. I thought it was a photograph. It was some of the best photorealism I’ve seen in a long time.

      Then this lady came in who was buying red aprons and white boas because she was going to sew the boas on the bottom of the aprons for her daughter and her friends. … and then she was going to come back later and get little white circle iron on pieces and put glitter on them so they looked like ornaments and iron them onto skirt of each apron. Such a cute idea.

      I love it when people like that come in. They’re so inspiring. It just makes me happy I work there.

      I don’t have any Halloween decorations at all. I really really wish I did, but I don’t think I’m going to be able to buy any this year. But I’m saving my money for Christmas ones. We have a few left from last year, but it’s not enough. I’m going to be crafty this Christmas. 🙂

      Of course, I always love Target. 🙂 They have some of the best ornaments.


Leave a Reply

