Asparagus and Shiitake Mushroom Design

Source

A couple weeks ago, One of my readers mentioned they would like to see a design inspired by Shiitake Mushrooms and Asparagus. I spent the last couple of weeks thinking about how I should do this design. While searching for images, I noticed the beautiful underside of the mushroom and thought it would make an amazing skirt.

Source

The most difficult part was the asparagus. At first, I thought about a one-shoulder dress with the top of the asparagus as the top of the dress with an empire waistline. Then I didn’t know what to do about the area between the skirt and the waistline. I knew if I made the skirt with the material I was thinking about, it wouldn’t look good up that high. So, I needed to rethink the bodice. When I sat down to draw the design, it didn’t look good as a one-shoulder dress so I added the other strap. The neckline has a jewel neckline (high neck) because that is what asparagus does – it gets smaller at the top.

Source

I also faded the green into the brown so it wasn’t such a harsh color combination.

Here’s the final design:

The top part is made of green tear-shaped diamonds like the ones on the right in this picture. The fabric on the bodice is a dark brown color so the brown peeks out from anywhere where there is not a diamond. The skirt is made from a light material that is rolled in the same way Fortuny used to twist his dresses to give a texture like the mushroom has underneath.

Let me know if you have any other requests or questions about my designs.

7 Comments on “Asparagus and Shiitake Mushroom Design”

  1. bendedspoon says:

    you’re amazing!
    for granting my request
    for such a great sketch
    my daughter and sisters
    are so impressed
    they want that dress!
    thank you really πŸ™‚

  2. Missa'sAmazingSister says:

    Missa, I must say, this dress is absolutely FANTASTIC! You can clearly see the inspiration, but it doesn’t look ugly like asparagus and mushrooms. xD Your blog is getting more popular too! πŸ˜€ I know I’m going to be the sister of a famous fashion designer πŸ˜‰

    • missavogue says:

      Awwww thanks, Emmy!!! πŸ™‚ It is getting a lot more popular. I’m getting really happy with it! Yay!!! πŸ™‚

  3. This a truly great post and may be one that you should followed up to see how things go

    A neighbor e-mailed this link the other day and I will be desperately anticipating your next put up. Carry on on the world-class work.

  4. […] to came up with itΒ here in Pink Spilled Paint! […]


Leave a Reply

