Yayyy school!

So, this past week was my first week at school. I have to say, I’m really excited for this quarter! I say that every quarter, but I really feel like I’m finally at the place I’m supposed to be. I just find so much about that school so inspiring. It might be because it’s an art school, but I feel like I can be the creative person I want to be and still have the knowledge that I need to succeed. I have never been more happy with my decisions before.

I start to fall more in love with fashion every quarter. On the first day of my Accounting class, the instructor asked a few of the fashion students if they even liked fashion anymore after spending time with it. Most of them said no. I don’t understand that. My mind might change, but so far, I just keep falling more in love with it.

I’m going to join the Fashion S.T.A.R.S this quarter, too. I have always thought of joining, but I don’t think I was ready for it yet. I wasn’t settled in my personal life, so I couldn’t get settled in my school life. This time, I’m ready. I feel like this is the first quarter that I can participate in other activities without having to cancel at the last minute. I am happy with my life and where it’s going. I’ve lost weight (10 pounds so far) and I’m eating better, too. All of this, I feel, has contributed to me being in the right place to start doing things I want to do – like joining the fashion club! šŸ™‚

Homework tip: If you have one class a week in each subject like I do, take a few minutes at the end of the week to write down everything that is due for the next week. Also, write mini steps for different projects you need to do each week for your big projects. This helps you organize your thoughts – and see when you need what. You can always use this list as a checklist when doing your homework. Work on one project at a time so you stay focused. Here’s my example for this week:

Homework for this week:

  • All Classes – BUY BOOKS!
  • Accounting – Read Ch. 1-3, do Vocabulary Flash Cards
  • Human Resource Management – Read Ch. 1-3
  • Consumer Behavior – Read Ch. 1-2, gather pictures for Final Project
  • Advertising – Read Ch. 1-5, do TV Commercial assignment
  • Apparel Evaluation – Read Ch. 4 in Apparel book (written by my teacher!), read Ch. 1 in Fashion book, choose a designer for Week 4 Project, start Step 1 of Final Project, do Labeling assignment.
Leave a Reply

