Wedding Jewelry

I’ve never been married. Never been engaged. So, I don’t really know much about weddings besides the fact that I would love a ring from Tiffany’s. So, I was kind of excited to play dressup with this question.

I posted a fashion tip on my facebook earlier (which was “two classic pieces together do not create a ‘wow'” by the way … great piece of advice!) and one of my facebook friends asked me a question.

Can I ask for your advice on my wedding jewelry? This is my dress (but in Ivory) and it isn’t quite this fitted. I’m going to wear my hair down but with a headband with crystal on it. What jewelry would you put with it?

Here’s what I answered:

Ohhhh that’s gorgeous!

Normally, I would say since you’re wearing a strapless dress, you need some sort of a necklace. But, because this dress has detailing right at the neckline, it would probably be better to go with a bare neck. If you do put a necklace with it, it needs to be VERY simple and understated.

Since you’re already going to have crystal in your hair, make sure any earrings you choose are very simple. I’d say just studs. Otherwise, there will be too much going on around your face. Especially for a wedding.

Definitely wear a simple bracelet. Just a simple diamond bracelet would be gorgeous with it. No rings, though. There should only be one ring allowed on your finger that day πŸ™‚

If you look at the jewelry in the closeup picture of the dress, it is just kind of placed with the dress, so it looks costumey. That’s not what you want to do.

I hope this helped. Let me know if you need anything else! πŸ™‚ Oh … and congratulations :)”

She replied:

Thanks for all the advice!

I found a picture of the hairband I bought. I bought it in Ivory. Since I’m wearing my hair down the ends of the hairpiece won’t be hanging down in plain sight as they are with this model:
link
I really don’t care for her updo!…It looks too pagenty.

Do you think that larger people should still go with the more understated jewelry? I’m almost 5’11” and large framed so I’m wondering if the rules you stated would still apply.

Great questions! Here’s my reply:

Yup, they would, but it really depends on your style.
Do you usually wear jewelry? If you do, wear what feels right to you. If you don’t, don’t overdo it.
Are you really traditional as far as a wedding look goes? This will totally determine what would be the right fit for your wedding jewelry.
How long is your hair? If it’s shorter, go with a bolder necklace. If it’s longer, keep the necklace simple so there’s not too much going on.

If you’re worried about a larger frame, going with a necklace with more of a Y-shape to it will draw attention to the center of the neckline and down the same line down the dress. It draws the attention away from your shoulders. If you’re worried about a larger frame, that’s definitely what I would go with. A curved necklace will show off your shoulders more and the focus would be much wider. So I would definitely look into finding a necklace with a Y-shape to it.

With a larger frame, you can pull off larger jewelry better than a really thin girl can. I would still keep the earrings simple, though.

As far as the bracelet, still keep it simple, but it can be a little larger. Keep it in proportion with your necklace, though.

So new rules: simple earrings, Y-shaped necklace, simple bracelet.

I wanted to share a few examples of what I was thinking for this look.

This is a super simple look. With the most delicate jewelry … Very beautiful if you’re into the simple, traditional with.

Simple Wedding JewelryFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

Simple Wedding Jewelry by MissaVogue on Polyvore.com

Bel Aire Bridal Headband, $108
Crown CZ Stud Earrings
Alfred Angelo wedding dress top
Alfred Angelo wedding dress
Caitlyn Cubic Zirconia Necklace
Giovanna’s Round Cut Asscher CZ Bracelet

Here’s a set that has a chunkier look to it, but still traditional.

Chunkier WeddingFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

Chunkier Wedding by MissaVogue on Polyvore.com

Bel Aire Bridal Headband, $108
Lana’s Cluster CZ Stud Earrings
Alfred Angelo wedding dress top
Alfred Angelo wedding dress
Valora’s CZ Daisy Cuff Bracelet
Vintage Taylor Burton CZ Necklace

And now … if it were me getting married, this is what it would look like … But I like to be a little bold and unique. πŸ™‚

What I'd Wear Wedding JewelryFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

What I’d Wear Wedding Jewelry by MissaVogue featuring Juicy Couture jewelry

Juicy Couture ‘XO’ Stud Earrings, $48
kate spade ‘crystal constellation’ bracelet – View All – Nordstrom, $175
Bel Aire Bridal Headband, $108
Alfred Angelo wedding dress top
Alfred Angelo wedding dress

It wouldn’t let me add this … but this is the necklace that I would wear with it:
ABS by Allen Schwartz ~ $350

There are several reasons I picked these pieces.

1: They represent me. I love large statement pieces. These are simple and classic, but still statements.

2: I love the earrings. They’re so unique and have that little bit of quirkiness to them.

3: I feel they balance each other out. πŸ™‚

Just make sure you’re true to yourself. If you don’t like the piece, you won’t feel comfortable in it. This is your day. You have to feel your best. Pick out a statement piece for your look to revolve around. In this example, the bracelet or the necklace should be the statement. Larger frames can handle larger pieces. You don’t want to put two simple (“classic”) pieces in the same area. The top of the dress should be showcased because that is the unique point of the dress.

One other thing … You do have to try these things on together. You will automatically know if it’s going to work or not. This is just to steer you in the direction you might want to look. πŸ™‚

If you have ANY questions, or if anything I said confuses you, please let me know! I will try my best to answer them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

