Hello out there :)

Actually, this is my third post … But I figured I’d introduce myself. I’m Melissa. I go to The Art Institute of Houston. I live with my boyfriend about an hour away from school – so yes, I drive all that way every day that I have school. I have a cat named Tiffany who is super feisty and a guinea pig named Nibbles, who smells a little, but just kind of sits there and watches you all day until he wants something … Then he squeaks.

Anyway where was I? … Oh! … I’m in the Fashion and Retail Management program at school. I am still trying to figure out where that degree is taking me. I seem to have all of these ideas, but haven’t really focused on one yet.

Before school, I was in the Air Force for 4 years straight out of high school. Then I took a couple years to kind of chill after that whole experience. I waited tables for a while but I never looked at it as a career. Just a job.

Then I tried for an interior design degree. I love interior design, but the program at the school I was going to was just not for me. It was geared at the older generation because that’s what most of their students were, so I just didn’t fit in. After that, I tried visual communications at the same school. … That was interesting, but then the opportunity of a lifetime came up.

Since the Air Force Post 9/11 GI Bill came out, I was able to go to pretty much any school I wanted to in the state of Texas. I was so freakin excited! The whole time I was in the military, I had been wanting to go to this school, but I couldn’t afford it.

So now here I am. In the school I’ve wanted to go to for forever … Getting the best grades I’ve ever had in my life. I’ve never been so passionate about any of my choices in my life. I love my program and can’t wait to get out there and use this knowledge. I just really want to get as much information out of this school as I can before my GI Bill stops paying for my classes … Because I have no idea WHAT I’m going to do then!

Anyway, that’s enough about me. Why don’t you tell me a little more about you. Who are you? Where you from? What was it they used to say … A/s/l? … I used to HATE it when people asked me that but whatever. I really want to know! Don’t worry I won’t hit on you. I’m happily in a relationship. 🙂

2 Comments on “Hello out there :)”

  1. Kelly M says:

    LOVE the site! You’ve done a great job. The links to your treasure hunt finds all over the internet are awesome. I have clicked on almost all of them and added about a dozen bookmarks. I’m addicted to design blogs of all kinds. I’m secretly wishing you would put up some old model pics…. Maybe add a trip down memory lane article with all the things you used to love. Retro is in! 🙂 Where are your projects from school? I’m sure you have more illustrations. I would love to see them here. I’ll check back soon!

    • missavogue says:

      Awww thanks, Kelly! 🙂 … Those are my favorites, too. I love sharing stuff like that. Maybe I will post some old modeling pics. I haven’t even looked at them in forever. …

      A lot of my projects, the school still has. For some reason, my portfolio from my first quarter there went missing. It’s gone from one teacher to another. So now I am just waiting to get it back. But I do have TONS more illustrations. The ones posted here are just my most recent ones.

      Thanks for coming by. 🙂 It really means a lot. 🙂


Leave a Reply

